CHeRI - Staff

Director | Affiliate Scientists | Post-Doctoral Researchers | Students | Staff

Who We Are: We are a collective of scientists, veterinarians, entomologists and extension specialists from the University of Florida who work to increase health outcomes for captive deer throughout Florida.

Director

Dr. Samantha Wisely

Associate Professor

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

352-846-0645

wisely@ufl.edu

http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/wiselys/

Field of Study/Research: Disease ecology, molecular ecology, biogeography, wildlife biology



Affiliate Scientists

Dr. Jeffrey R. Abbott

Associate Professor

Department of Infectious Diseases and Pathology

352-294-4123

abbottj@ufl.edu

http://www.vetmed.ufl.edu/about-the-college/faculty-directory/jeff-abbott/

Field of Study/Research: Mechanisms of host immunity as it relates to persistence of diseases, vaccine production, nutrition, and pathology



Dr. Jason K. Blackburn

Associate Professor

Department of Geography

352-294-7501

jkblackburn@ufl.edu

@JasonKBlackburn

http://geog.ufl.edu/people/faculty/blackburn/

Field of Study/Research: Zoonotic diseases, wildlife diseases, disease transmission pathways, ecological niche modeling, spatio-temporal modeling of epidemiology, disease ecology, anthrax transmission dynamics



Dr. Nathan Burkett-Cadena

Assistant Professor

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

772-778-7200 ext. 141

nburkettcadena@ufl.edu

https://fmel.ifas.ufl.edu/fmel---faculty-staff/faculty-profile-n-burkett-cadena/

Field of Study/Research: Host preference of blood-feeding insects, transmission ecology of arboviruses, pathogen surveillance



Dr. Juan Campos

Wildlife Extension Veterinarian

Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences and Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

jmcampos@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Extension and outreach programming to deer farmers in Florida





Dr. Salvador Gezan

Quantitative Genetics and Biometrics

School of Forest Resources and Conservation

352-846-0133

sgezan@ufl.edu

http://sfrc.ufl.edu/people/faculty/gezan/

Field of Study/Research: Mixed Linear Models, Quantitative Genetics, Design of Experiments, Sampling, Growth and Yield Modelling, Plant Breeding, Forest and Agricultural Statistics.



Dr. John Lednicky

Associate Professor

Department of Environmental & Global Health

352-273-9204

jlednicky@phhp.ufl.edu

http://egh.phhp.ufl.edu/personnel/faculty-2/primary-faculty/john-lednicky-phd/>

Field of Study/Research: Microbiology, virology



Dr. Nicole Stacy

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Aquatic Animal Health and Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences

352-294-4093

stacyn@ufl.edu

http://www.vetmed.ufl.edu/about-the-college/faculty-directory/nicole-stacy/

Field of Study/Research: clinical pathology of exotic species, especially aquatic species and reptiles, environmental toxicology and wildlife conservation



Dr. Kuttichantran Subramaniam

Research Assistant Professor

Department of Infectious Diseases and Pathology

352-215-7278

kuttichantran@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Emerging Aquatic Animal Viruses (EAAVs)





Dr. Heather Walden

Assistant Professor

Department of Infectious Diseases and Pathology

352-294-4125

hdstockdale@ufl.edu

http://www.vetmed.ufl.edu/about-the-college/faculty-directory/heather-walden/

Field of Study/Research: parasites of importance to veterinary medicine, the relationships between parasite and host and resulting pathogenesis of disease, parasitic infections or infestations



Dr. Marcelo Wallau

Assistant Professor- Forages Extension Specialist

Agronomy Department

352-260-2254

mwallau@ufl.edu

http://agronomy.ifas.ufl.edu/faculty/marcelo-wallau/

Field of Study/Research: Forage production and management



Dr. Thomas B. Waltzek

Assistant Professor

Department of Infectious Diseases and Pathology

352-273-5202

tbwaltzek@ufl.edu

http://www.vetmed.ufl.edu/about-the-college/faculty-directory/thomas-b-waltzek/

Field of Study/Research: Aquatic Animal Zoonoses, Public Health, One Health, Emerging Aquatic Animal Viruses (EAAVs)



Dr. Emma Weeks

Assistant Research Scientist

Department of Entomology and Nematology

352-273-3954

eniweeks@ufl.edu

http://entnemdept.ufl.edu/people-directory/emma-weeks/

Field of Study/Research: Chemical ecology, behavior and integrated pest management of medical and veterinary arthropod pests, including ticks, bed bugs, muscid flies, biting midges and mosquitoes



Dr. Jim Wellehan

Assistant Professor

Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences

352-392-2235

wellehanj@ufl.edu

http://www.vetmed.ufl.edu/about-the-college/faculty-directory/jim-wellehan/

Field of Study/Research: Comparative infectious disease diagnostics, novel pathogen identification, and host/pathogen evolution and ecology



Post-Doctoral Researchers

Dr. Dinesh Erram

Postdoctoral Associate

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

derram@ksu.edu

Field of Study/Research: Medical and veterinary entomology







Dr. Agustin IE Quaglia

Postdoctoral Associate

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

aquaglia@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Culicoides assemblages change at time and habitat scale, the way midges are using host as food resource







Students

Hannah Barber

M.S. Student

Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences

barberh@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Extension and outreach programming to deer farmers in Florida





Katherine Buckman

Undergraduate Student

College of Veterinary Medicine

Field of Study/Research: Deer Food Plot, Wildlife Camera Processing







Allison Cauvin

M.S. Student

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

acauvin@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Wildlife disease ecology and clinical pathology





Joshuah Demetrius

Undergraduate Student

Department of Biology

jdemetrius@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Sample processing and field prep





Emily Dinh

Ph.D. Student

Department of Geography

emilydinh@ufl.edu

http://geog.ufl.edu/grad-students/dinh/

Field of Study/Research: Arthropod-vectored Zoonotic and Wildlife Diseases, Geopredictive Arthropod Habitat Models, Spatio-temporal Interpolation of Vector Proliferation Sites, Disease Ecology, and Transmission Dynamics


Laura Harmon

M.S. Student

Department of Entomology and Nematology

larharmon@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Entomology





Karen Hood

M.S. Student

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

khood07@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Vector-borne disease





Bethany McGregor

Ph.D. Student

Department of Entomology and Nematology

772-778-7200 ext. 162

bmcgreg@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Entomolgy, vector ecology, and disease ecology



Shannon Moore

M.S. Student

Social Media Coordinator, Webmaster

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

smoore517@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Genetic ecology, disease ecology




Staff

Carolina Acevedo

Research Technician

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

c.acevedo@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: molecular biology and biotechnology, arbovirus detection, bloodmeal analysis





Sydney Cottingham

Necropsy Intern

College of Veterinary Medicine

s.cottingham@ufl.edu.com

Field of Study/Research: Necropsies, infectious and zoonotic diseases of animals






Olivia Goodfriend

Biological Scientist I

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

ogoodfriend@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Epidemiology of zoonotic and vector-borne diseases






Marni Gutman

Necropsy Intern

College of Veterinary Medicine

gutmanma@msu.edu

Field of Study/Research: Necropsies, infectious and zoonotic diseases of animals






Julia Loeb

Biologicial Scientist

Department of Environmental & Global Health

jloeb@phhp.ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Virology





Hilda Lynn

Laboratory Technician

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

hclynn@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Midge Identification







Jeremy Orange

Biological Scientist

Department of Geography
jporange@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Spatial Epidemiology and Ecology






Brandon Parker

Research Technician

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

brandonparker@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Epidemiology of zoonotic and vector-borne diseases






Alfred Runkel, IV

Research Technician

Department of Entomology and Nematology

runkela@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Entomology, forest entomology, insect-plant interaction, biting insects




Kristin Sloyer

Laboratory Technician

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

772-778-7200 ext. 162

ksloyer@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Medical entomolgy and vector ecology





Tanise Stenn

Molecular Biology Lab Technician

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

772-778-7200 ext. 161

Field of Study/Research: Molecular biology and host preference of blood-meal







Jordan Vann

Laboratory Assistant

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

jvann@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Molecular biology, biochemisty with vector arthropods, infectious and zoonotic diseases of animals, and blood meal analysis





Zoe White

Biological Scientist

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

zoezy5@gmail.com

Field of Study/Research: Microbiome assay and analysis