Wildlife Ecology and Conservation Faculty

Department Faculty | Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty | Emeritus Faculty

Department Faculty

Austin, James D.
Associate Professor
352-846-0646
Building 116 Room 007
austinj@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://austinlabuf.com/
Field of Study/Research: Conservation genetics, Phylogeography, Phylogenetics

Baiser, Benjamin
Assistant Professor
352-392-1947
Building 116
bbaiser@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/baiser/
Field of Study/Research: Quantitative Ecology, Community Ecology, Ecological Networks, and Macroecology

Basille, Mathieu
Assistant Professor
Landscape Ecology
Ft Lauderdale Research and Education Center
basille@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://ase-research.org/basille/
Field of Study/Research: Landscape Ecology

Blake, John
Professor
352-846-0591
Building 866 Room 110
john.blake@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/Blake/

Boughton, Raoul
Assistant Professor
Rangeland Scientist - Wildlife
863-735-1314 ext. 216
Range Cattle Research and Education Center
rboughton@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://rcrec-ona.ifas.ufl.edu/faculty/Boughton.shtml

Branch, Lyn
Professor
Director, Southern Cone Conservation Leadership Initiative
352-846-0564
312 Newins-Ziegler Hall
branchl@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/branchl
Field of Study/Research: Ecology and conservation of mammals, reserve design and evaluation, conservation planning, application of landscape ecology and behavioral ecology in conservation, and natural resource management and conservation in Latin America

Bruna, Emilio
Associate Professor
352-846-0634
Building 866
embruna@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://brunalab.org/
Field of Study/Research: Tropical conservation, plant ecology, demographic modelling, plant-animal interactions, and mutualisms

Campos Krauer, Juan
Assistant Professor
Wildlife Extension Veterinarian
jmcampos@cccipy.org

Carthy, Ray
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Assistant Unit Leader, Florida Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
352-846-0545
Building 810
carthyr@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/carthyr/

Ernest, Morgan
Associate Professor
352-294-2082
Building 150 Rm 2
skmorgane@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://ernestlab.weecology.org/

Fletcher, Robert
Associate Professor
352-846-0632
318 Newins-Ziegler Hall
robert.fletcher@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://plaza.ufl.edu/robert.fletcher/
Field of Study/Research: Landscape and Spatial Ecology, Animal Behavior, Quantitative Biology, Population and Community Ecology, Ornithology

Frederick, Peter
Research Professor
Information Technology Coordinator
352-846-0565
368 Newins-Ziegler Hall
pfred@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/frederickp
Field of Study/Research: Wetlands Ecology, Avian Behavior

Giuliano, Bill
Professor
Extension Specialist
352-846-0575
308 Newins-Ziegler Hall
docg@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/giulianob/
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife Management

Hellgren, Eric C.
Professor and Chair
352-846-0552
115 Newins-Ziegler Hall
hellgren@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/hellgren/

Hostetler, Mark
Professor
352-846-0568
215 Newins-Ziegler Hall
hostetm@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/hostetlerm
Field of Study/Research: Urban ecology and environmental design, sustainable development, urban wildlife, resource efficient communities

Hull, Vanessa
Assistant Professor
352-846-0638
Building 87
vhull@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.globalhumanwildlifelab.com
Field of Study/Research: Large mammal ecology and conservation, coupled human and natural systems, human-wildlife conflict and coexistence, natural resource management

Jacobson, Susan
Professor
Director, Program for Studies in Tropical Conservation
International Affairs Coordinator
352-846-0562
310 Newins-Ziegler Hall
jacobson@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/jacobsons
Field of Study/Research: Environmental communications, human dimensions of wildlife conservation

Johnson, Steve
Associate Professor
352-846-0557
322 Newins-Ziegler Hall
tadpole@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://ufwildlife.ifas.ufl.edu/
Field of Study/Research: Conservation and management of amphibians and reptiles, invasive vertebrate ecology

Loiselle, Bette
Professor
Director Tropical Conservation & Development
352-846-0592
Building 866 Room 109
loiselleb@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/loiselle/

Main, Martin
Professor
Associate Dean for Extension, Environmental and Natural Resources Programs
Associate Director, Florida Sea Grant Program Extension and Education
352-846-0552
mmain@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://extadmin.ifas.ufl.edu/main_martin.shtml
Field of Study/Research: Behavioral ecology, habitat management, and environmental education

Mazzotti, Frank
Professor
Director, Center for Natural Resources - South FL
954-577-6300
fjma@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://crocdoc.ifas.ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Conservation planning, endangered species

McCleery, Robert
Associate Professor
352-846-0566
314 Newins-Ziegler Hall
ramccleery@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/mccleery/
Field of Study/Research: Conservation and Ecology of Mammals, Urban Ecology, Wildlife Management

Miller, Deborah
Professor
850-983-2632
WFREC
dlmi@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/miller/

Moulton, Mike
Associate Professor
352-846-0571
318 Newins-Ziegler Hall
moultonm@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/moultonm/
Field of Study/Research: Introduced vertebrates, synanthropy

Ober, Holly K.
Associate Professor
North Florida Research and Education Center
850-875-7150
holly.ober@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/ober/
Field of Study/Research: Forest ecology, habitat management

Oli, Madan
Professor
352-846-0561
342 Newins-Ziegler Hall
olim@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/olim
Field of Study/Research: Population ecology, population modeling, life-history, wildlife ecology and management

Payne, Jack M.
Professor
Senior Vice President for Agriculture and Natural Resources
352-392-1971
1008 McCarty Hall
jackpayne@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife Management on Private Lands, Wetland and Waterfowl Ecology, University and NGO Administration

Pienaar, Elizabeth
Assistant Professor
352-846-0630
316 Newins-Ziegler Hall
efpienaar@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://wec.ufl.edu/faculty/pienaar/
Field of Study/Research: Environmental Economics, Human Dimensions of Wildlife

Pine, Bill
Associate Professor
352-273-3650
110 Newins-Ziegler Hall
billpine@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/pineb/
Field of Study/Research: Quantitative ecology, aquatic ecology, and adaptive management

Powell, Abby
Courtesy Professor
Unit Leader, Florida Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
352-846-0543
Building 810
abbypowell@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/powell/

Romagosa, Christina
Assistant Research Professor
352-273-3996
307A Newins-Ziegler Hall
cmromagosa@ufl.edu
Homepage: https://sites.google.com/site/christinamromagosa/
Field of Study/Research: Biological invasions, wildlife trade

Sayler, Katherine
Research Assistant Professor
Building 116
saylerk@ufl.edu

Scheffers, Brett
Assistant Professor
352-846-0570
Building 87 Room 7
brett.scheffers@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/scheffers/
Field of Study/Research: Tropical Ecology and Conservation, Urban Ecology, Global Change Biology, Ecophysiology

Sieving, Katie
Professor
Graduate Coordinator
352-846-0569
320 Newins-Ziegler Hall
chucao@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/sievingk
Field of Study/Research: Avian Community and landscape ecology

White, Ethan
Associate Professor
352-294-2081
Building 150 Rm 1
ethanwhite@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://whitelab.weecology.org/
Field of Study/Research: Data-Intensive Ecology, Ecological Forecasting, Computational Ecology, Quantitative Ecology, Macroecology

Wisely, Samantha
Associate Professor
Associate Director for Research and Education, OSBS
352-846-0645
Building 116 Room 001C
wisely@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/wiselys/
Field of Study/Research: Disease ecology, molecular ecology, biogeography, wildlife biology

Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty

Avery, Michael L.
Courtesy Associate Professor
352-375-2229
Michael.L.Avery@aphis.usda.gov
Field of Study/Research: Vulture management, avian crop pests

Borkhataria, Rena
Research Assistant Professor
Director and National Coordinator, Doris Duke Conservation Scholars Program Collaborative
561-993-1599
rrbork@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://erec.ifas.ufl.edu/contact/faculty/RenaBorkhataria.shtml
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

Campbell, Todd
Courtesy Assistant Professor
University of Tampa
813-253-3333 ext. 3124
tcampbell@ut.edu
Homepage: http://utweb.ut.edu/hosted/faculty/tcampbell/
Field of Study/Research: Ecology and management of introduced and invasive herpetofauna

Didier, Karl
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Wildlife Conservation Society
352-214-0954
kdidier@wcs.org

Dodd, Ken
Courtesy Associate Professor
352-377-4319
caretta@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/people/faculty/dodd.php
Field of Study/Research: Conservation Biology of Amphibians and Reptiles

Franz, Dick
Affiliate Associate in Ecology, M.S.T.
352-846-2000
dfranz@flmnh.ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/natsci/herpetology/uf-herp.htm
Field of Study/Research: Amphibian and reptile ecology

Kirkman, Katherine
Courtesy Associate Professor
Conservation Biology, Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
229-734-4706
kkirkman@jonesctr.org

Krysko, Kenney
Affiliate Senior Biological Scientist
Senior Biological Scientist, Florida Museum of Natural History
352-392-1721 x479
kenneyk@flmnh.ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/herpetology/kk/kkresearch.htm

Meyer, Ken
Courtesy Associate Professor
352-335-4151
meyer@arcinst.org

Monadjem, Ara
Courtesy Associate Professor
University of Swaziland
ara@uniswa.sz
Field of Study/Research: Biodiversity surveys; conservation ecology of raptors; ecology and systematics of small mammals

Nichols, Jim
Courtesy Associate Professor
301-497-5660
jim_nichols@nbs.gov

Nickerson, Max
Affiliate Professor
352-392-1721
maxn@flmnh.ufl.edu

Rice, Kenneth
Courtesy Assistant Professor
FL Caribbean Science Center - UF Field Station
954-577-6305
ken_g_rice@usgs.gov

Robertson, Kevin M.
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Fire Ecology Research Scientist
850-893-4153 x 254
krobertson@ttrs.org
Homepage: http://www.talltimbers.org/fireecology.html

Robinson, Scott
Affiliate Professor
Ordway Eminent Scholar of Ecosystem Conservation
352-392-1721 ext 509
srobinson@flmh.ufl.edu

Sheehy, Coleman M.
Affiliate Research Assistant Professor
Associate Director, Seahorse Key Marine Laboratory
352-294-0685
coleman3@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://skml.clas.ufl.edu/

Smith, Lora L.
Courtesy Associate Scientist
Jones Ecological Research Center
229-734-4706
lora.smith@jonesctr.org

Tucker, Anton
Courtesy Associate Professor
Mote Marine Laboratory
941-388-4441 ext 470
tucker@mote.org

Emeritus Faculty

Kitchens, Wiley
Courtesy Professor
kitchensw@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/kitchensw
Field of Study/Research: Restoration ecology

Labisky, Ron
Emeritus Professor
labiskyr@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Population ecology, space and habitat use, predator-prey interactions

Percival, Franklin
Courtesy Associate Professor
percivaf@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Wetland wildlife ecology and conservation

Ross, Perran
Associate Scientist
352-392-7137
pross@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Conservation biology, conflict mitigation and stakeholder input, crocodilian and sea turtle ecology, international trade and sustainable use

Sunquist, Mel
Emeritus Professor
sunquist@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Carnivores, natural history, ecology, conservation

Tanner, George
Emeritus Professor
tannerg@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife habitat management, restoration ecology

Werner, Patricia A.
Emeritus Professor
+61 (2) 6247-7714
wernerpa@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Population and community ecology; savanna ecology; role of fire in natural systems; Australian biodiversity and climate change