Wildlife Ecology and Conservation Faculty

Department Faculty | Regional Extension Agents | Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty | Emeritus Faculty

Department Faculty

Austin, James D.

Associate Professor
Building 116 Room 007
352-846-0646
Email: austinj@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Conservation genetics, Phylogeography, Phylogenetics

Baiser, Benjamin

Assistant Professor
409 McCarty Hall C
352-392-1947
Email: bbaiser@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Quantitative Ecology, Community Ecology, Ecological Networks, and Macroecology

Blake, John

Professor
Building 866 Room 110
352-846-0591
Email: john.blake@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage

Boughton, Raoul

Assistant Professor
Rangeland Scientist | Wildlife, Range Cattle Research and Education Center
Range Cattle Research and Education Center
863-735-1314 ext. 216
Email: rboughton@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage

Branch, Lyn

Professor
312 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0564
Email: branchl@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Ecology and conservation of mammals, reserve design and evaluation, conservation planning, application of landscape ecology and behavioral ecology in conservation, and natural resource management and conservation in Latin America.

Bruna, Emilio

Associate Professor
Building 866
352-846-0634
Email: embruna@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Tropical conservation, plant ecology, demographic modelling, plant-animal interactions, and mutualisms

Carthy, Ray

Courtesy Assistant Professor
Assistant Unit Leader, Florida Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
Building 810
352-846-0545
Email: carthyr@wec.ufl.edu
Personal Homepage

Fletcher, Robert

Associate Professor
318 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0632
Email: robert.fletcher@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Landscape and Spatial Ecology, Animal Behavior, Quantitative Biology, Population and Community Ecology, Ornithology

Frederick, Peter

Research Professor
Information Technology Coordinator
368 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0565
Email: pfred@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Wetlands Ecology, Avian Behavior

Giuliano, Bill

Professor
Extension Specialist
308 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0575
Email: docg@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife Management

Hellgren, Eric C.

Professor and Chair
115 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0552
Email: hellgren@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage

Hostetler, Mark

Professor
215 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0568
Email: hostetlerm@wec.ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Urban ecology and environmental design, sustainable development, urban wildlife, resource efficient communities

Jacobson, Susan

Professor
Director, Program for Studies in Tropical Conservation
International Affairs Coordinator
310 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0562
Email: jacobsons@wec.ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Environmental communications, human dimensions of wildlife conservation

Johnson, Steve

Associate Professor
301A Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0557
Email: tadpole@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Conservation and management of amphibians and reptiles, invasive vertebrate ecology

Kitchens, Wiley

Courtesy Professor
Building 810
352-846-0536
Email: kitchensw@wec.ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Restoration ecology

Loiselle, Bette

Professor
Director Tropical Conservation & Development
Building 866 Room 109
352-846-0592
Email: loiselleb@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage

Main, Martin

Professor
352-846-0552
Email: mmain@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Behavioral ecology, habitat management, and environmental education

Mazzotti, Frank

Professor
Director, Center for Natural Resources - South FL
954-577-6300
Email: fjma@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Conservation planning, endangered species

McCleery, Robert

Assistant Professor
314 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0566
Email: ramccleery@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Conservation and Ecology of Mammals, Urban Ecology, Wildlife Management

Miller, Deborah

Professor
WFREC
850-983-2632
Email: dlmi@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage

Moulton, Mike

Associate Professor
318 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0571
Email: moultonm@wec.ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Introduced vertebrates, synanthropy

Ober, Holly K.

Associate Professor
North Florida Research and Education Center
850-875-7150
Email: holly.ober@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Forest ecology, habitat management

Oli, Madan

Professor
313 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0561
Email: olim@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Population ecology, population modeling, life-history, wildlife ecology and management

Payne, Jack M.

Professor
Senior Vice President for Agriculture and Natural Resources
1008 McCarty Hall
352-392-1971
Email: jackpayne@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife Management on Private Lands, Wetland and Waterfowl Ecology, University and NGO Administration

Percival, Franklin

Courtesy Associate Professor
Unit Leader, Florida Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
Building 810
352-392-1861
Email: mailto:percivaf@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Wetland wildlife ecology and conservation

Pienaar, Elizabeth

Assistant Professor
Building 810 Room 10
352-846-0630
Email: efpienaar@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Environmental Economics, Human Dimensions of Wildlife

Pine, Bill

Associate Professor
110 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-273-3650
Email: billpine@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Quantitative ecology, aquatic ecology, and adaptive management

Romagosa, Christina

Assistant Research Professor
307A Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-273-3996
Email: cmromagosa@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Biological invasions, wildlife trade

Schaefer, Joe

Professor
District Extension Director, South Florida
561-993-1280
Email: jms@ifas.ufl.edu
Personal Homepage

Sieving, Katie

Professor
Graduate Coordinator
320 Newins-Ziegler Hall
352-846-0569
Email: chucao@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Avian Community and landscape ecology

Wisely, Samantha

Associate Professor
Associate Director for Research and Education, OSBS
Building 116 Room 001C
352-846-0645
Email: wisely@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Disease ecology, molecular ecology, biogeography, wildlife biology

Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty

Avery, Michael L.

Courtesy Associate Professor
352-375-2229
Email: Michael.L.Avery@aphis.usda.gov
Field of Study/Research: Vulture management, avian crop pests

Campbell, Todd

Courtesy Assistant Professor
University of Tampa
813-253-3333 ext. 3124
Email: tcampbell@ut.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Ecology and management of introduced and invasive herpetofauna

Didier, Karl

Courtesy Assistant Professor
Wildlife Conservation Society
352-214-0954
Email: kdidier@wcs.org

Dodd, Ken

Courtesy Associate Professor
352-377-4319
Email: caretta@ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Conservation Biology of Amphibians and Reptiles

Franz, Dick

Affiliate Associate in Ecology, M.S.T.
352-846-2000
Email: dfranz@flmnh.ufl.edu
Personal Homepage
Field of Study/Research: Amphibian and reptile ecology

Gunzburger, Margaret

Courtesy Assistant Professor
352-264-3520
Email: gunz@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Ecology and conservation of amphibians and reptiles

Kirkman, Katherine

Courtesy Associate Professor
Conservation Biology, Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
229-734-4706
Email: kkirkman@jonesctr.org

Krysko, Kenney

Affiliate Senior Biological Scientist
Senior Biological Scientist, Florida Museum of Natural History
352-392-1721 x479
Email: kenneyk@flmnh.ufl.edu
Personal Homepage

Kunz, Thomas

Courtesy Professor
Bat Research-Lubee Foundation
617-353-2432
Email: kunz@bu.edu

Lefebvre, Lynn

Courtesy Assistant Professor
Section Leader, Wildlife, Invasives, and Contaminants
352-372-2571
Email: lynn_lefebvre@usgs.gov

Meyer, Ken

Courtesy Associate Professor
352-335-4151
Email: meyer@arcinst.org

Monadjem, Ara

Courtesy Associate Professor
University of Swaziland

Email: ara@uniswa.sz
Field of Study/Research: Biodiversity surveys; conservation ecology of raptors; ecology and systematics of small mammals

Nichols, Jim

Courtesy Associate Professor
301-497-5660
Email: jim_nichols@nbs.gov

Nickerson, Max

Affiliate Professor
352-392-1721
Email: maxn@flmnh.ufl.edu

Rice, Kenneth

Courtesy Assistant Professor
FL Caribbean Science Center -UF Field Station
954-577-6305
Email: ken_g_rice@usgs.gov

Robertson, Kevin M.

Courtesy Assistant Professor
Fire Ecology Research Scientist
850-893-4153 x 254
Email: krobertson@ttrs.org
Personal Homepage

Robinson, Scott

Affiliate Professor
Ordway Eminent Scholar of Ecosystem Conservation
352-392-1721 ext 509
Email: srobinson@flmh.ufl.edu

Smith, Lora L.

Courtesy Associate Scientist
Jones Ecological Research Center
229-734-4706
Email: lora.smith@jonesctr.org

Tucker, Anton

Courtesy Associate Professor
Mote Marine Laboratory
941-388-4441 ext 470
Email: tucker@mote.org

Emeritus Faculty

Labisky, Ron

Emeritus Professor

Email: labiskyr@wec.ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Population ecology, space and habitat use, predator-prey interactions

Ross, Perran

Associate Scientist
352-392-7137
Email: pross@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Conservation biology, conflict mitigation and stakeholder input, crocodilian and sea turtle ecology, international trade and sustainable use

Sunquist, Mel

Emeritus Professor

Email: sunquist@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Carnivores, natural history, ecology, conservation

Tanner, George

Emeritus Professor

Email: tannerg@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife habitat management, restoration ecology

Werner, Patricia A.

Emeritus Professor
+61 (2) 6247-7714
Email: wernerpa@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Population and community ecology; savanna ecology; role of fire in natural systems; Australian biodiversity and climate change