Wildlife Ecology and Conservation Faculty

Department Faculty | Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty | Emeritus Faculty

Department Faculty

Austin, James D.
Associate Professor
352-846-0646
Building 116 Room 007
austinj@ufl.edu
http://plaza.ufl.edu/austinj/Austin_Lab/Welcome.html
Conservation genetics, Phylogeography, Phylogenetics

Baiser, Benjamin
Assistant Professor
352-392-1947
409 McCarty Hall C
bbaiser@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/baiser/
Quantitative Ecology, Community Ecology, Ecological Networks, and Macroecology

Basille, Mathieu
Assistant Professor
Landscape Ecology
Ft Lauderdale Research and Education Center
basille@ufl.edu

Blake, John
Professor
352-846-0591
Building 866 Room 110
john.blake@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/Blake/

Boughton, Raoul
Assistant Professor
Rangeland Scientist | Wildlife, Range Cattle Research and Education Center 863-735-1314 ext. 216
Range Cattle Research and Education Center
rboughton@ufl.edu
http://rcrec-ona.ifas.ufl.edu/faculty/Boughton.shtml

Branch, Lyn
Professor
352-846-0564
312 Newins-Ziegler Hall
branchl@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/branchl
Ecology and conservation of mammals, reserve design and evaluation, conservation planning, application of landscape ecology and behavioral ecology in conservation, and natural resource management and conservation in Latin America

Bruna, Emilio
Associate Professor
352-846-0634
Building 866
embruna@ufl.edu
http://brunalab.org/
Tropical conservation, plant ecology, demographic modelling, plant-animal interactions, and mutualisms

Carthy, Ray
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Assistant Unit Leader, Florida Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit 352-846-0545
Building 810
carthyr@wec.ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/carthyr/

Fletcher, Robert
Associate Professor
352-846-0632
318 Newins-Ziegler Hall
robert.fletcher@ufl.edu
http://plaza.ufl.edu/robert.fletcher/
Landscape and Spatial Ecology, Animal Behavior, Quantitative Biology, Population and Community Ecology, Ornithology

Frederick, Peter
Research Professor
Information Technology Coordinator 352-846-0565
368 Newins-Ziegler Hall
pfred@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/frederickp
Wetlands Ecology, Avian Behavior

Giuliano, Bill
Professor
Extension Specialist 352-846-0575
308 Newins-Ziegler Hall
docg@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/giulianob/
Wildlife Management

Hellgren, Eric C.
Professor and Chair
352-846-0552
115 Newins-Ziegler Hall
hellgren@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/hellgren/

Hostetler, Mark
Professor
352-846-0568
215 Newins-Ziegler Hall
hostetlerm@wec.ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/hostetlerm
Urban ecology and environmental design, sustainable development, urban wildlife, resource efficient communities

Jacobson, Susan
Professor
Director, Program for Studies in Tropical Conservation
International Affairs Coordinator
352-846-0562
310 Newins-Ziegler Hall
jacobsons@wec.ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/jacobsons
Environmental communications, human dimensions of wildlife conservation

Johnson, Steve
Associate Professor
352-846-0557
322 Newins-Ziegler Hall
tadpole@ufl.edu
http://ufwildlife.ifas.ufl.edu/
Conservation and management of amphibians and reptiles, invasive vertebrate ecology

Loiselle, Bette
Professor
Director Tropical Conservation & Development
352-846-0592
Building 866 Room 109
loiselleb@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/loiselle/

Main, Martin
Professor
352-846-0552
mmain@ufl.edu
Behavioral ecology, habitat management, and environmental education

Mazzotti, Frank
Professor
Director, Center for Natural Resources - South FL
954-577-6300
fjma@ufl.edu
http://crocdoc.ifas.ufl.edu
Conservation planning, endangered species

McCleery, Robert
Assistant Professor
352-846-0566
314 Newins-Ziegler Hall
ramccleery@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/mccleery/
Conservation and Ecology of Mammals, Urban Ecology, Wildlife Management

Miller, Deborah
Professor
850-983-2632
WFREC
http://www.ifas.ufl.edu/research/map/milton-county.htm
dlmi@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/miller/

Moulton, Mike
Associate Professor
352-846-0571
318 Newins-Ziegler Hall
moultonm@wec.ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/moultonm/
Introduced vertebrates, synanthropy

Ober, Holly K.
Associate Professor
North Florida Research and Education Center
850-875-7150
holly.ober@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/ober/
Forest ecology, habitat management

Oli, Madan
Professor
352-846-0561
313 Newins-Ziegler Hall
olim@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/olim
Population ecology, population modeling, life-history, wildlife ecology and management

Schaefer, Joe
Professor
District Extension Director, South Florida
561-993-1280
jms@ifas.ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/SchaeferJ/

Payne, Jack M.
Professor
Senior Vice President for Agriculture and Natural Resources
352-392-1971
1008 McCarty Hall
jackpayne@ufl.edu
Wildlife Management on Private Lands, Wetland and Waterfowl Ecology, University and NGO Administration

Pienaar, Elizabeth
Assistant Professor
352-846-0630
Building 810 Room 10
http://campusmap.ufl.edu/?id=0810in
efpienaar@ufl.edu
http://wec.ufl.edu/faculty/pienaar/
Environmental Economics, Human Dimensions of Wildlife

Pine, Bill
Associate Professor
352-273-3650
110 Newins-Ziegler Hall
billpine@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/pineb/
Quantitative ecology, aquatic ecology, and adaptive management

Romagosa, Christina
Assistant Research Professor
352-273-3996
307A Newins-Ziegler Hall
cmromagosa@ufl.edu
Biological invasions, wildlife trade

Scheffers, Brett
Assistant Professor
brett.scheffers@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/scheffers/
Tropical Ecology and Conservation, Urban Ecology, Global Change Biology, Ecophysiology

Sheehy, Coleman M.
Research Assistant Professor
Associate Director, Seahorse Key Marine Laboratory
352-294-0685
coleman3@ufl.edu
https://skml.clas.ufl.edu/

Sieving, Katie
Professor
Graduate Coordinator
352-846-0569
320 Newins-Ziegler Hall
chucao@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/sievingk
Avian Community and landscape ecology

Wisely, Samantha
Associate Professor
Associate Director for Research and Education, OSBS 352-846-0645
Building 116 Room 001C
wisely@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/faculty/wiselys/
Disease ecology, molecular ecology, biogeography, wildlife biology

Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty

Avery, Michael L.
Courtesy Associate Professor
352-375-2229
Michael.L.Avery@aphis.usda.gov
Vulture management, avian crop pests

Dodd, Ken
Courtesy Associate Professor
352-377-4319
caretta@ufl.edu
http://www.wec.ufl.edu/people/faculty/dodd.php
Conservation Biology of Amphibians and Reptiles

Franz, Dick
Affiliate Associate in Ecology, M.S.T.
352-846-2000
dfranz@flmnh.ufl.edu
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/natsci/herpetology/uf-herp.htm
Amphibian and reptile ecology

Kunz, Thomas Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty
affiliate
Courtesy Professor
Bat Research-Lubee Foundation
617-353-2432
kunz@bu.edu

Lefebvre, Lynn
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Section Leader, Wildlife, Invasives, and Contaminants
352-372-2571
lynn_lefebvre@usgs.gov

Meyer, Ken
Courtesy Associate Professor
352-335-4151
meyer@arcinst.org

Nichols, Jim
Courtesy Associate Professor
301-497-5660
jim_nichols@nbs.gov

Nickerson, Max
Affiliate Professor
352-392-1721
maxn@flmnh.ufl.edu

Smith, Lora L.
Courtesy Associate Scientist
Jones Ecological Research Center
229-734-4706
lora.smith@jonesctr.org

Krysko, Kenney Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty
affiliate
Affiliate Senior Biological Scientist
Senior Biological Scientist, Florida Museum of Natural History 352-392-1721 x479 kenneyk@flmnh.ufl.edu
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/herpetology/kk/kkresearch.htm

Didier, Karl Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty
affiliate
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Wildlife Conservation Society
352-214-0954
kdidier@wcs.org

Robertson, Kevin M. Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty
affiliate
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Fire Ecology Research Scientist 850-893-4153 x 254 krobertson@ttrs.org
http://www.talltimbers.org/fireecology.html

Campbell, Todd Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty
affiliate
Courtesy Assistant Professor
University of Tampa 813-253-3333 ext. 3124 tcampbell@ut.edu
http://utweb.ut.edu/hosted/faculty/tcampbell/
Ecology and management of introduced and invasive herpetofauna

Kirkman, Katherine Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty
affiliate
Courtesy Associate Professor
Conservation Biology, Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
229-734-4706
kkirkman@jonesctr.org

Rice, Kenneth
Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty
affiliate
Courtesy Assistant Professor
FL Caribbean Science Center - UF Field Station
954-577-6305
ken_g_rice@usgs.gov

Robinson, Scott
Affiliate Professor
Ordway Eminent Scholar of Ecosystem Conservation
352-392-1721 ext 509
srobinson@flmh.ufl.edu

Gunzburger, Margaret
Courtesy Assistant Professor
352-264-3520
gunz@ufl.edu
Ecology and conservation of amphibians and reptiles

Monadjem, Ara
Courtesy Associate Professor
University of Swaziland
ara@uniswa.sz
Biodiversity surveys
conservation ecology of raptors
ecology and systematics of small mammals

Tucker, Anton
Courtesy Associate Professor
Mote Marine Laboratory
941-388-4441 ext 470
tucker@mote.org

Emeritus Faculty

Kitchens, Wiley
Courtesy Professor
kitchensw@wec.ufl.edu
Restoration ecology

Labisky, Ron
Emeritus Professor
labiskyr@wec.ufl.edu
Population ecology, space and habitat use, predator-prey interactions

Percival, Franklin
Courtesy Associate Professor
percivaf@ufl.edu
Wetland wildlife ecology and conservation

Ross, Perran
Associate Scientist
352-392-7137
pross@ufl.edu
Conservation biology, conflict mitigation and stakeholder input, crocodilian and sea turtle ecology, international trade and sustainable use

Sunquist, Mel
Emeritus Professor
sunquist@ufl.edu
Carnivores, natural history, ecology, conservation

Tanner, George
Emeritus Professor
tannerg@ufl.edu
Wildlife habitat management, restoration ecology

Werner, Patricia A.
Emeritus Professor
+61 (2) 6247-7714 wernerpa@ufl.edu
Population and community ecology
savanna ecology
role of fire in natural systems
Australian biodiversity and climate change